Vedic Astrology vs Western Astrology

3 Key Differences in Vedic Astrology vs. Western Astrology

Vedic and Western astrology have some similarities but are also very different. Both Vedic and Western astrology are concerned with the twelve zodiac signs and is focused on time and space.

Vedic astrology has a birth chart that is square and divided into twelve sections. Western astrology has no birth chart. Vedic astrology is more concerned with a person’s karma and how it can benefit the person, as well as predict future outcomes.

Astrology has been a controversial subject for thousands of years. If you want to know three critical differences between Vedic astrology and Western astrology, this is the article for you.

Article Topics

What is the Origin of Vedic Astrology vs. Western Astrology?

Vedic and Western astrology come from different schools of thought. There is a long-held debate over which form of astrology is the best. Even though they have some similarities, some fundamental differences between Vedic and Western astrology are rooted in their respective histories.   

Both forms of astrology support the improvement of the life of the individual. Vedic and Western astrology also use planets, birthdates, and other information to recognize the components that influence someone’s life. Each form of astrology holds its own importance. 

Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is traced back to ancient Indian texts, and it has been practiced from 5,000 to 10,000 BC. It is deep-rooted in Vedas, which are the oldest writings in Sanskrit and part of the Hindu religion and philosophy. Vedic astrologers adhere to spiritual practices. For thousands of years, Vedic astrologers created maps of the heavens and determined the movements of the planets. 

Vedic astrology is concerned with the physical arrangement of constellations and utilizes the sidereal zodiac. Vedic astrology is correlated with spirituality and the practice of yoga. It was formed from the Four Pillars or Purposes, which are revealed through a birth chart in Vedic astrology:

  • Dharma: How you fulfill your soul through your purpose in life
  • Artha: How you make your living and income 
  • Kama: How do you go after your goals
  • Moksha: How you attain enlightenment and free your soul  

Vedic astrology is known as sidereal astrology. It takes a more realistic approach to astrology in that it acknowledges life’s hardships and obstacles and helps to determine a person’s strengths and weaknesses. It is also most concerned with the individual’s karma.

Astrology has been controversial in the churches as it conflicts with modern Christianity because of its association with the occult. 

Western Astrology

The history of Western astrology goes back to the Greek philosophers in the 5th century BC. Geometry and numerology were quickly implemented in Western astrology. Ptolemy wrote his book, called Tetrabiblos, in the second century AD, which helped to shape astrology’s future. 

It became popular with astronomers and the occult. Another major work of Ptolemy is called “Almagest,” which taught how to predict celestial phenomena by applying mathematics. Western astrology became associated with the practice of magic.  

Ultimately, Western astrology evolved from intellectual exploration and development as it became debated in universities. In contemporary Western astrology, signs of the zodiac are represented by four different elements:

  • Air 
  • Earth 
  • Fire 
  • Water

Water and earth signs are feminine, while fire and air signs are believed masculine. Western astrology is centered on the tropical zodiac, which relates to the earth’s position associated with positions in the sky.

3 Key Differences in Vedic Astrology vs. Western Astrology

There are some key distinctions between Vedic and Western Astrology. Much of the difference lies in their understanding of the positions of the constellations. Western astrology employs a zodiac based on the seasons, and in Vedic astrology, the zodiac is based on the authentic constellations in the sky.

1. Different Perceptions

Western astrology is more associated with the sun, while Vedic astrology is more connected with the moon. Western astrology also deals more with the psychological aspects of astrology, while Vedic astrology is more concerned with a person’s dharma, karma, and individual life path. The way that each version of astrology looks at the zodiac is totally different.

Western astrology uses the zodiac based on the seasons, and Vedic astrology corresponds with the Sidereal zodiac, which concerns the constellations in the sky. Western astrology is based on the sun’s position in a specific sun sign. In Vedic astrology, the emphasis is placed on the moon’s position in a sign along with Ascendant. 

With the position of the sun, the focus is on the personality and characteristics of an individual. With the position of the moon, the focus is the nature of the soul and future outcomes. Vedic astrology sees the birth date and time of birth as of utmost importance. In contrast, Western astrology is only concerned with the date of birth, which can make it less specific and not as accurate as Vedic astrology. 

Vedic Astrology vs Western Astrology - info

2. Birth Chart and Zodiac

Western astrology does not have a birth chart, and Vedic astrology has a birth chart in the shape of a square, which is divided into twelve sections. Three points indicate each section for one sign, a second for planets, and a third for the house.   

Vedic astrology is centered on the Sidereal zodiac. The Sidereal zodiac refers to the unchanging, fixed nature of a group of stars known as the constellations. Astronomy also refers to the observation of the nine planets. 

Western astrology is based on the tropical zodiac. The tropical zodiac is entirely built on the sun. The tropical zodiac ignores the Precession of the Equinoxes in favor of certain beliefs about the year’s seasons. 

3. The Planets Utilized for Calculation

Western astrology is based on planets that do not exist, which are Rahu and Ketu. In Vedic astrology, Rahu and Ketu are the shadowy planets that help to calculate the nature and explanation of human karma and other vital occurrences. 

In western astrology, astrologers use the planets Uranus, Pluto, and Neptune. However, the influence of these planets on our lives has not yet been determined. In Vedic astrology, the astrologers use seven planets, as well as Rahu and Ketu. Nine planets are used to obtain more accurate predictions.


Western astrology was derived from intellectual development and is centered on the tropical zodiac, while Vedic astrology is more concerned with spirituality and is built on the Sidereal zodiac. Both forms of astrology have their strengths and weaknesses.